Fifth MTMarathon

Call for Papers


The Fifth Machine Translation Marathon, which will take place 13–18 September 2010 in Le Mans, France, is hosting an Open Source Convention to advance the state of the art in machine translation. The MT Marathon is organised by the Computer Science Laboratory of Le Mans (LIUM) and the University of Le Mans at Le Mans on behalf of the EuroMatrixPlus Consortium.

We invite developers of open source tools to present their work and submit a paper of up to 10 pages that describes the underlying methodology and includes instructions how to use the tools.

We are looking for stand-alone tools and extensions of existing tools, such as the Moses open source system. Accepted papers will be presented during the MT Marathon and published as a special issue of the PBML, Prague Bulletin of Mathematical Linguistics (

Possible Topics:

This is the third time that the MT Marathon will host the Open Source Convention. The papers from last two marathons are available online:
Papers will be reviewed by two reviewers appointed by the program committee e.g.: papers which will be marked as the best by the reviewers (with no substantial modifications required) will be printed as usual in the PBML journal in time for the MT Marathon. Others will be printed after requested modifications in the next PBML issue.

Important Dates

Paper Submission due: 1st August 2010 8th August 2010
Notification of Acceptance: 7 August 2010 15th August 2010
Camera-ready paper due: 14 August 2010 21st August 2010
Oral Presentations: 13-18 September 2010 (during MTMarathon)
Camera-ready (next issue): 15 December 2010

Please send full non-anonymous submissions in PDF to Philipp Koehn and the full Xe(La)TeX source for technical pre-review to Ondřej Bojar.

The maximum length for submissions is 10 pages, including references. This limit will be strictly enforced. If your paper has been accepted, please send your camera-ready version in both PDF and Xe(La)TeX format to Ondřej Bojar.

Submissions will be accepted only in the PBML Xe(La)TeX format for short papers (, i.e. MS Word and other formats or a PDF without source files will not be accepted.

Program Committee

Philipp Koehn
Ondřej Bojar
Holger Schwenk
Loïc Barrault